Additional Information
Nomination Form

Nominations for Legends of the Game:
Girls team must be at least 20 years ago
Boys team must be at least 30 years ago

Due at the IHSAA by September 10 
  • Nominations factors: 
  • Win-loss records
  • Outstanding player accomplishments
  • Outstanding coach accomplishments
  • State championship won

Legends of the Game

The Legends of the Game program was established in 2001 to honor outstanding basketball teams. Teams are honored in ceremonies at halftime of the 5A state basketball championship game. Team members receive commemorative medallions and plaques while their schools receive United Dairymen of Idaho championship banners. 

2019 Girls Legends of the Game

Centennial High School 1993

The IHSAA is pleased to honor the 2019 girls’ basketball “Legends of the Game”, the 1993 Centennial Patriots.  With an overall season record of 25-1, this team won the school’s first-ever girls basketball state championship in one of the most exciting title games in Idaho’s history.  Centennial was favored to contend for the title coming in to the tournament and led by as much as 15 points in the third quarter of the championship game.  But with seconds left on the clock, their opponent took the lead for the first time in the second half.  With one last chance, senior Andrea Baxter drove to the basket and took an off-balanced shot to win it all.  The ball bounced off the backboard, rattled around the rim and finally dropped through the net as the buzzer sounded.  Champions!


Led by legendary coach, Emery Roy, the Centennial Patriots set a new bar for excellence at CHS and inspired future generations of state champions.  


2002 - 10 Pioneers of Girls Basketball 2003 - 1983 Meridian Warriors 2004 - 1938-39 Hagerman Pirates 2005 - 1981-82 Moscow Bears 2006 - 1979 Grangeville Bulldogs 2007 - 1962 Camas County Mushers 2008 - 1985 Highland Rams
2009 - 1979 McCall-Donnelly Vandals
2010 - 1980 Homedale Trojans
2011 - 1978 Highland (Craigmont) Huskies
2012 - 1983 Grace Grizzlies
2013 - 1984 Kimberly Bulldogs
2014 - 1983 Post Falls Trojans
2015 - 1977-78 Prairie Pirates
2016 - 1997 Kuna Kavemen
2017 - 1986 Shoshone Indians
2018 - 1992-94 Moscow Bears

2019 Boys Legends of the Game

Teton High School 1976

After winning the 1975 state title, the Redskins headed into the state tournament with one thing on their mind….bringing home a second consecutive state championship.  Teton, the pre-tournament favorite, was riding a 38-game winning streak and took care of their first two opponents of the tournament handily.  The Redskins would face a very familiar foe in the championship game, Glenns Ferry.  The same team they defeated in ’75.   Down by one with less than a minute to play, Teton called on senior Larry Bergeson and junior Gary Furniss to lead the team down the stretch.  Teton forced a series of turnovers late in the game to win the title by five, 43-38. Bergeson finished with 19 points and Furniss added 14 rebounds to clinch the championship.  The Redskins would win a third consecutive state title in 1977, cementing their place in Idaho basketball history.

                                   2001 - 1950          Nampa Bulldogs
                                   2002 - 1957-58     Grace Red Devils                     
                                   2003 - 1965          Mullan Tigers                                 
                                   2004 - 1957          Pocatello Indians                           
                                   2005 - 1953          Idaho Falls Tigers                          
                                   2006 - 1958          Wendell Trojans                             
                                   2007 - 1949          Coeur d'Alene Vikings                   
                                   2008 - 1946          Preston Indians
                                   2009 - 1959          Kellogg Wildcats
                                   2010 - 1946          American Falls Beavers
                                   2011 - 1948          Lewiston Bengals
                                   2012 - 1972          Gooding Senators
                                   2013 - 1976          Capital Eagles
                                   2014 - 1964          Salmon Savages
                                   2015 - 1950          Orofino Maniacs
                                   2016 - 1970-71     Oakley Hornets
                                   2017 - 1969          Snake River Panthers
                                   2018 - 1987          Lapwai Wildcats

Connect with the IHSAA!
Send us an Email, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and Instagram!

The Idaho Dairy Farm Families
Official IHSAA Tournament Sponsor

YEA Foundation of Idaho
Youth Endowment for Activities
Copyright © 2019 Idaho High School Activities Association -                                                      Administrator Login